成功案例

真实的人,真实的成就
Dolores Mayorga

Dolores Mayorga

就业平台

阅读她的故事

"长期失业,一个新的婴儿和一个蹒跚学步的孩子,账单堆积如山,看不到工作。这就是我几个月来每天的现实。我挣扎着,迷茫着。收到邀请函并加入这个团队,改变了我的生活。免费的,有能力发展和磨练你的技能,坚实的导师和辅导,建立关系,提高网络能力,最终来就业。该计划是透明的,并提供这些和更多。每个教练都是P2E的一个组成部分,为我们的团队提供专业知识和支持。每场合作会议都有内容丰富的发言人提供丰富的信息。你被鼓励,你被认可,在每个星期结束时,你是一个更好的个人和专业的自我"。

"我很自豪地说,在这个项目中,我被雇用为雅利-纽黑文卓越健康研究所的全职行政助理。在教练的帮助下,我利用他们提供的工具谈成了一个我感到满意的薪水。我不可能遇到一个更好的项目。谢谢你们,P2E!"- Dolores Mayorga,西摩

Quin'shon McKoy

Quin'Shon McKoy

ApprenticeshipWorks & CareerHub

阅读他的故事

Quin'shon M.是一名20岁的布里奇波特居民,是WorkPlace的YouthBuild和ApprenticeshipWorks项目的参与者。"我觉得制造业将是一个很好的垫脚石,可以引导我进入我的成年生活。因此,我在ApprenticeshipWorks项目中双双注册,以获得数控加工的培训。他们为我提供去普拉特技术学校培训的交通,给我提供工作靴和工具,并帮助我获得了驾驶执照许可。

Quin'shon自6月13日起在Rotair担任车间技术员。这个职位是全职的,并有福利。当被问及他的未来目标时,Quin'shon说:"目前我的短期目标是完成学徒期,在Housatonic社区学院获得先进制造业的副学士学位,并最终获得学士学位。

Cynthia M.

Cynthia M.

就业平台

阅读她的故事

Cynthia M在被Realized Solutions的客户倡导者和业务分析师解雇后,失业了九个月。在加入P2E之前,她在面试中取得了一定的成功,但没有得到任何工作机会。她说:"我把自己比作婚礼上的一个比喻,永远是伴娘,而不是新娘,"她谈到在参加P2E之前找工作的情况。   

Cynthia于2020年9月参加了P2E的20天强化课程。她与工作人员合作,完善、学习并采用新的求职策略。Cynthia更新了她的简历和LinkedIn资料,并进行了模拟面试练习。在职业教练的帮助下,她能够确定可转移的技能,帮助她在其他申请人中脱颖而出。辛西娅最近接受了Homeserve的一个职位,担任业务分析师。   

"正当我在求职中感到困顿和沉沦时,P2E提升了我并鼓励我。通过P2E,我获得了更多的技术、知识和资源。我从工作人员和我的同学那里得到的支持是非常宝贵的。"- Cynthia M. 

Maryann Pigage 

Maryann Pigage

完善的服务

阅读她的故事

Maryann Pigage在加入MaturityWorks之前已经失业五年了。在此之前,她曾担任行政助理和前台接待员,负责监督财务数据,记录保密记录,以及安排和规划会议。这个职位结束后,她发现自己在积极寻找工作,但她的寻找并不成功。  

Maryann的主要就业障碍是她缺乏专业网络、自信和微软办公技能。由于她已经失去工作五年了,她的技能已经过时了。玛丽安与她的职业顾问一起解决这些障碍,并被安排在宾夕法尼亚州普鲁士国王的RSVP志愿者公司担任行政助理,参加培训任务。在培训期间,她管理RSVP的数据库,维护他们的记录,并回应电话,接收信息。

Maryann参加了几个培训课程,以提高她的就业技能,如微软办公室、客户服务和行政支持课程。一旦玛丽安的计算机技能得到提高,她的信心得到增强,她就开始寻找工作。此外,玛丽安和她的职业顾问开始询问她的主办机构RSVP是否有可能提供长期工作。一旦玛丽安知道该机构对雇佣的想法持开放态度,她就开始了解所有关于该公司的信息,并继续与该组织的人建立关系。 

Maryann的努力工作,以及她愿意与她的职业顾问合作,使她能够进入RSVP担任行政助理的工作。Maryann很高兴能成为RSVP的员工,并感谢MaturiyWorks员工的支持。 

Reginald Ferguson

Reginald Ferguson

完善的服务

阅读他的故事

Reginald Ferguson从一个朋友那里听说了MaturityWorks项目后,就报名参加了该项目。他的爱好是为人们提供娱乐和表演,他把这种爱好带到了工作场所,在那里他主要从事办公室支持工作,帮助同事和客户实现他们的目标。

在入学前,雷金纳德失业了,并努力寻找合适的工作,这影响了他的信心。雷金纳德开始对自己的前景感到沮丧,他需要一个机会,一个就业路线图,以及积极的激励措施。他对MaturityWorks项目感到犹豫不决,但还是抓住了这个机会。

为了获得他所期望的就业类型,他必须克服几个障碍。雷金纳德必须提高一些技能,包括倾听、团队合作、时间管理、关注细节和自我管理。最后,他还想重新获得自信。在Reginald寻找工作的过程中,MaturityWorks的工作人员在保持他的积极性方面发挥了关键作用。

雷金纳德(Reginald)曾多次被指派为办公室支持实习生,以使他的培训多样化。他被安排在苏格兰礼节之家,后来又被安排在拉尔斯顿慈悲道格拉斯之家做办公室支持工作。通过积极寻求就业线索,弗格森先生被安全资源公司聘用为全职保安。尽管这份工作不是办公室支持,但它是通往雷金纳德最终想去的地方的一座桥梁。雷金纳德很高兴能够再次工作,并感谢MaturiyWorks工作人员的支持。

Christine

恭维

抵押贷款危机就业培训计划

阅读她的故事
2018年9月,克里斯蒂娜在恩菲尔德美国就业中心第一次与她的MCJTP专家见面时,她已经拖欠了七个月的抵押贷款。克莉丝汀已婚,家中有一个较大的孩子,她每周工作15个小时,作为办公室文员,工资刚刚超过最低工资,没有机会增加工作时间。当时家里没有人就业,她目前的职位也不能提供足够的收入来支付账单和抵押贷款。克莉丝汀参加了抵押贷款危机就业培训计划(MCJTP),在那里她学会了如何准备工作面试。她的MCJTP项目专家审查了她的简历,提供职业指导并讨论了培训机会。她还被推荐到美国就业中心,以获得进一步的援助,为寻找工作做准备。

克莉丝汀在2014年之前一直是一名LPN,但无法继续从事这一职业。在项目专家的帮助下,她研究了医疗保健认证项目,并得出结论,获得眼科助理的认证将帮助她实现继续从事医疗保健行业的目标。这个职业也可以为她提供所需的收入,以拯救她的家,并为她的家人争取更好的生活。通过MCJTP提供的培训奖学金,她成功完成了眼科助理课程。在寻找职位并参加了几次招聘会后,她在2019年7月获得了Allume Home Care的重症护理助理的工作。

Jermain Burke

Jermain Burke

先进制造业

观看他的故事
Jacinda Mattu

Jacinda Mattu

为成功着装

Anan Natarajan

Anan Natarajan

就业平台

阅读他的故事
"就业平台(P2E)计划是一个结构非常好的计划,为失业的专业人士寻求在康涅狄格州内的中小型公司重新就业。作为一名高级管理人员,有机会参与这个创新项目并从中学习,是很有启发性的。P2E使我能够更有效地评估我在康涅狄格州 "后院 "的本地机会。

这个由国家资助的项目为候选人提供了广泛的网络、培训和专业教育;它还为公司提供了直接接触经验丰富的人才的机会。我强烈推荐这个项目,并对那些富有爱心、足智多谋、充满激情的主持人和项目负责人印象深刻。他们通过密集的小组讨论和研讨会,有效地在有凝聚力的团队中培养了友情。
与我的同组成员坦诚而亲密地合作是一种真正的乐趣,从而产生了新的友谊和扩展的专业网络。非常感谢职业指导员和培训师的帮助和热情。我现在在nView Medical担任首席商务官,我很兴奋,也很感激。"
Ric Hill

里克-希尔

就业平台

阅读他的故事

里克-希尔是数百名受裁员影响的人之一,他以前在Subway总部工作。虽然他的前公司提供了再就业服务,但援助力度还不够大。他通过LinkedIn上的一个网络小组了解到Platform to Employment (P2E),并参加了P2E工作人员举办的项目信息发布会。他从工作人员那里听到了该项目为他们和其他人所做的个人故事,这促使他报名参加。

Ric于2021年1月参加了P2E。他与他的职业教练、雇主关系专家和培训师合作,完善他的简历,确定他的可转移技能并提高他的求职技能。Ric学会了如何使用LinkedIn进行求职和网络的新技巧。他坚持不懈地寻找工作,并与工作人员紧密合作,寻找适合他的技能组合的职位。在面试成功后,Ric被聘为LextureLinx的应付账款专家。

"你从P2E工作人员和班上其他学员那里得到的支持和授权是非常宝贵的。整个P2E团队,从教练到培训师、项目经理和演讲嘉宾,都相信这个过程,并将尽其所能帮助你走好这条路。我对他们感激不尽,因为我从这个班级中获得了洞察力和信心,并学到了持久的最佳做法,我可以将其传授给其他人。"- 里克-希尔。

zh_CNChinese

Success Stories

Real People, Real Achievements
Dolores Mayorga

Dolores Mayorga

Platform to Employment

Read His Story

“Long-term unemployed, a new baby and a toddler, bills piled high, and no job in sight. This was my reality every day for several months. I struggled and was lost. Being sent an invitation and joining this cohort was life-changing. Free of charge, capacity to develop and hone your skills, solid mentorship and coaching, build relationships, improve networking abilities and ultimately come to be employed. The program is transparent and provides that and more. Each of the coaches is an integral element of P2E that provide expertise and support to our team. Each collaborative session delivers a wealth of information with informative speakers. You are encouraged, you are acknowledged and by the end of each week, you are a better version of your personal and professional self.”

“I am proud to say, during this program I was hired full-time as an Administrative Assistant at Yale-New Haven Health Institute of Excellence. With the help of my coaches, I negotiated a salary I felt comfortable with using the tools they laid out. I could not have come upon a better program. Thank you P2E!” – Dolores Mayorga, Seymour

Quin'shon McKoy

Quin'shon McKoy

ApprenticeshipWorks & CareerHub

Read His Story

Quin’shon M. is a 20-year-old Bridgeport resident and participant of The WorkPlace’s YouthBuild and ApprenticeshipWorks programs. Quin’shon left his undergraduate studies at UConn, where he majored in Computer Science & Engineering, to pursue his childhood dream of joining the Army National Guard. Following his unit training, his uncle told him about the WorkPlace’s YouthBuild program and thought it would be a great opportunity.”I joined YouthBuild to get a good understanding of the construction industry. I’ve always wanted to be in the electrical field, so I thought that earning credentials from the National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER) through YouthBuild could get me started. In every class I attended, my NCCER Instructor, Louie, was passionate about this one profession: manufacturing. He was so passionate that I started to think of ideas for what I could do in the future with the knowledge of manufacturing. I felt that manufacturing would be a good stepping stone to lead me into my adult life. So that was when I dual-enrolled in the ApprenticeshipWorks program to get training for CNC Machining.””The WorkPlace helped me with everything I needed to succeed. They provided transportation to training at Platt Technical School, gave me workboots & tools, and helped me attain my Drivers License Permit. I earned my OSHA 10 and OSHA 30 card, Forklift Certificate, NCCER Certification, HAAS CNC Lathe and Milling Certificate, and NIMS CNC Lathe and Milling Operations Credentials. After training completion, I set a goal to complete an apprenticeship in manufacturing. The staff in both programs helped me so much. My Job Development Specialist, Kimberly Hare, was a helpful resource for me with job readiness & job interview prep. They also gave me emotional support, especially when I needed someone to talk to when my personal life needed as much attention as my skills training.”Shortly after completing the CNC Machining program with ApprenticeshipWorks, Quin’shon attended HCC’s Manufacturing Job Fair and connected with several employers who invited him to interview. Two days later, he went on his first of many scheduled interviews, and Rotair Aerospace Corporation in Bridgeport offered him a position on the spot. When Quin’shon told the employer he would like to pursue an apprenticeship in manufacturing, they set about working with The WorkPlace and the CT Office of Apprenticeship Training to set up an approved Registered Apprenticeship Program. Quin’shon has been working as Shop Technician at Rotair since June 13. The role is full-time with benefits.When asked about his future goals, Quin’shon said, “My short-term goals as of now are to complete my apprenticeship, earn my associate’s degree in Advanced Manufacturing at Housatonic Community College, and eventually pursue a bachelor’s degree.”

Cynthia M.

Cynthia M.

Platform to Employment

Read Her Story

Cynthia M was unemployed for nine months after being laid off from her previous job as a Client Advocate & Business Analyst for Realized Solutions. Before enrolling in Platform to Employment (P2E), she was having moderate success with interviews but was not getting any job offers. “I was comparing myself to the wedding analogy, always a bridesmaid, never the bride,” she stated about her job search before P2E.   

Cynthia enrolled in P2E’s 20 days intensive program in September 2020. She worked with staff to refine, learn and employ new job search strategies. Cynthia updated her resume, LinkedIn profile and practiced mock interviewing. With the help of her career coach, she was able to identify transferable skills that would help her stand out among other applicants. Cynthia has recently accepted a position with Homeserve as a Business Analyst.   

“P2E lifted me up and encouraged me just as I was feeling stuck and sinking in my job search. Through P2E, I was armed with additional techniques, knowledge, and resources. The support that I received from the staff and my classmates is invaluable.”- Cynthia M. 

Maryann Pigage 

Maryann Pigage 

MaturityWorks

Read Her Story

Maryann Pigage had been unemployed for five years before joining MaturityWorks. Prior she worked as an administrative assistant and front desk receptionist, overseeing financial data, recording confidential records, and arranging and planning meetings. Once that position ended, she found herself actively looking for employment, but her search was unsuccessful.  

Maryann’s primary barriers to employment were her lack of a professional network, self-confidence, and Microsoft Office skills. Since she had been out of work for five years, her skills were outdated. Maryann worked with her Career Counselor to address these barriers and was placed at RSVP Volunteers Inc. in King of Prussia, PA, as an administrative assistant for her training assignment. During her training she managed RSVP’s database, maintained their records, and responded to telephone calls, taking messages.

Maryann attended several training courses to advance her employable skills such as Microsoft Office, customer service, and administrative support classes. Once Maryann’s computer skills improved and her confidence boosted she began her job search. In addition Maryann and her career counselor began to inquire if permanent employment was a possibility at her host agency, RSVP. Once Maryann knew the agency was open to the idea of a hire, she began to learn all she could about the company and continued building relationships with people in the organization. 

Maryann’s hard work, and her willingness to work with her Career Counselor enabled her to move into a job at RSVP as an Administrative Assistant. Maryann is excited to be working as an employee of RSVP and grateful to the MaturiyWorks staff for their support. 

Reginald Ferguson

Reginald Ferguson

MaturityWorks

Read His Story

Reginald Ferguson enrolled in MaturityWorks after hearing about the program from a friend. His passion is entertaining and performing for people and he carries that passion into the workplace, where he has worked primarily in office support roles, helping co-workers and clients achieve their goals.

Before enrolling, Reginald was unemployed and struggled to find suitable employment, which affected his confidence. Reginald started to feel down about his prospects and needed an opportunity, a roadmap to employment, and positive reinforcement. He was hesitant about the MaturityWorks program but took a chance and grasped the opportunity.

There were several obstacles he had to overcome to acquire the type of employment he desired. Reginald had to improve a number of skills including listening, teamwork, time management, attention to detail, and self-management. Lastly, he wanted to regain his self-confidence. The MaturityWorks staff played a crucial role in keeping Reginald motivated during his job search.

Reginald had multiple assignments was as an office support trainee to diversify his training. He was placed at to Scottish Rite House, and later the Ralston Mercy Douglas House working in office support roles. By aggressively pursuing employment leads Mr. Ferguson was hired by Security Resources Inc. as a full-time security guard. Even though this job was not in office support, it is a bridge to where Reginald ultimately wants to be. Reginald is excited to be working again and grateful to the MaturiyWorks staff for their support.

Christine

Christine

Mortgage Crisis Job Training Program

Read Her Story
Christine was seven months behind on her mortgage when she first met with her MCJTP Specialist in September 2018 at the Enfield American Job Center. Christine is married with one older child at home and she was working fifteen hours per week at just over minimum wage as an office clerk with no opportunity to work additional hours. No one in the household was employed at the time and her current position did not provide enough income to cover bills and mortgage payments. Christine enrolled in the Mortgage Crisis Job Training Program (MCJTP) where she learned to prepare for job interviews. Her MCJTP program specialist reviewed her resume, provided career guidance and discussed training opportunities. She was also referred to the American Job Center for further assistance with acquiring skills in preparation for her job search.

Christine had been an LPN until 2014 but was unable to continue in this career. With assistance from her Program Specialist, she researched healthcare certification programs and concluded that obtaining certification as an Ophthalmic Assistant would help her achieve her goal of remaining in the healthcare industry. This career could also provide her with the income needed to save her home and secure a better life for her family. With a training scholarship from the MCJTP, she successfully completed the Ophthalmic Assistant Program. After searching for a position and attending several job fairs, she was able to secure a job in July 2019 as Critical Care Assistant with Allume Home Care.

Jermain Burke

Jermain Burke

Advanced Manufacturing

Watch His Story
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOo6MBera7w
Jacinda Mattu

Jacinda Mattu

Dress for Success

Watch Her Story
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8IKoOwmA5pY
Anan Natarajan

Anan Natarajan

Platform to Employment

Read His Story
“The Platform to Employment (P2E) program is an extremely well-structured program for unemployed professionals seeking to get re-engaged in small to mid-sized companies within Connecticut. As a senior executive, the opportunity to participate and learn from this innovative program was enlightening and highly informative. P2E enabled me to evaluate local opportunities more effectively within my “backyard” here in CT.

This state-funded program provides candidates with extensive networking, training, and professional education; it also provides companies with direct access to highly seasoned talent. I highly recommend the program and was impressed by the caring, resourceful, and passionate moderators and program leaders. They effectively developed comradery within cohesive teams through intensive group discussions and workshops.
It was a true pleasure working candidly and intimately with my cohort, resulting in new friendships and an extended professional network. Thank you very much to the career coaches and trainers for their assistance and passion. I am now working as Chief Commercial Officer for nView Medical, and I am excited and grateful.”
Ric Hill

Ric Hill

Platform to Employment

Read His Story

Ric Hill was one of the hundreds affected by layoffs at his previous job with Subway Headquarters. Although his former company provided re-employment services, the assistance was not substantial enough. He was introduced to Platform to Employment (P2E) through a networking group on LinkedIn and attended an information session on the program hosted by P2E staff. The personal stories he heard from the staff of what the program has done for them and others motivated him to enroll.

Ric enrolled in P2E in January 2021. He worked with his career coach, employer relations specialist, and trainer to refine his resume, identify his transferable skills and enhance his job search skills. Ric learned new techniques on how to use LinkedIn to job search and network. He was consistent with his job search and worked closely with staff to find positions that fit his skill set. After a successful interview, Ric was hired as an Accounts Payable Specialist for LextureLinx.

“The support and empowerment you receive from the P2E staff and the other participants in the class is invaluable. The entire P2E team, from the coaches to the trainer, the Program Manager, and guest speakers, believes in the process and will do everything they can to help you on your journey. I can’t thank them enough for the insight and confidence I have received from this cohort and the long-lasting best practices I have learned that I can pass along to others.” – Ric Hill.

en_USEnglish